Our Governing Body

The Governing Body has a shared ownership for the development and strategic direction of our school. Governors establish, together with the Headteacher, aims for the school, and approve policies for the curriculum, behaviour and discipline, for example. Governors are responsible for the school’s budget and the use and maintenance of the premises. School governors have legal duties, powers and responsibilities. They can only act together; they cannot act individually. 

As a Governing Body we meet regularly, endeavouring always to ensure our children receive the best education possible in a safe and supportive environment.

The Governing Body consists of 14 individuals representing different parts of our school and wider community. 

The Governing Body comprises:

  • Head Teacher
  • 1 Staff Governor
  • 8 Foundation Governors appointed by York Diocese
  • 2 Parent Governors
  • 1 Local Authority representative
  • 1 Co-opted governor

The total number of governors on the instrument of governance is 14.
Date of reconstitution: 1st September 2015

Please follow this link for details of the current governing body:

In September 2021 the governing body elected Sue Brooks as chair and Chris Scott as vice chair and set up the following committees to carry out its core functions effectively.

Ethos Committee:

Annette Thomas (committee chair), Emma McCormick, Lynne Borwell, Sue Brooks, Anna Ronsano, Claire Jones, Revd Anne Heading.

Outcomes Committee:

Anna Ronsano (chair), Emma McCormick, Lynne Borwell, Sue Brooks, Ruth Smith, Alison Whittaker.

Provisions Committee:

Philip Dale (chair), Emma McCormick, Chris Scott, Alison Whittaker.

Correspondence and enquiries for the Governing Body or Chair of Governors should be sent to the school office and marked for their attention.   The clerk to the governors is Karen Summerhill.

If you would like to know more about becoming a school governor please contact us here